GM Inside News Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Editor
26,951 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Big Three. Could They Comeback All The Way??

I have this theory on the automotive industry, and no I am not an analyst, nor do I work in the auto industry, but yes, I do study the industry very much so. As everyone who knows anything knows that right now are tough times for the industry; markets are down, war, and the imports. Since about 1985 imports have slowly gotten more and more market share, while the Big Three are quickly losing market share. They managed to do that because they learned from their enemies. When Ford first introduced the Taurus in 1986 all the other companies and the consumers were very astonished by its aero design and great performance. Since everyone was so amazed by that car Toyota decided that they needed some of the attention that the Taurus was getting, so they had an employee in the states go and buy a Taurus. Toyota then had it shipped to Japan and they did a “strip-down” on the whole car. That is basically the start of the “cab-forward” design.
As you know the Big Three are kind of gaining on the market now, with the exception of DCX. But I look for a major comeback to come around 2008-2010. I believe that because no matter how much you deny it, the American’s style of choice for the automobile is changing. Just look at some of the future designs and plans that the Big Three have; RWD V8 sedans, and hard-core performance sport coupes. Here are some examples: GM is planning to redesign a large majority of it’s sedans to RWD V8’s. DCX is also planning such vehicles, the Dodge Magma and Chrysler 300C. The reason I think this will put the Big Three way back at the top is the fact that the Japanese companies do not have any experience in building big RWD V8 sedans and V8 coupes. They have always built 4-cylinders and V6’s in cars and coupes, since Japan is all about economy cars.