GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2002 trailblazer. It cost $35,000 new. The transmission went out at 45,000 miles. It cost $2800 to fix. The warranty expired at 36,000 miles. Chevy dealer fixed it and would not help pay for any of it. Why would I buy another chevy. I am an engineer and understand mechanical failure but I also understand customer satisfaction and loyalty. If they would've paid for half I wouldn't be angry.

·
Banned
8,969 Posts
First of all, I feel your pain. Major mechanical problems are difficult to swallow, especially so short after the warranty expires. My Silverado's tranny messed up on me while we were driving for thanksgiving this past year at 17k. I'm glad mine was still under warranty though.

Secondly, you paid that much for a Trailblazer? I would think that you could've and would've negotiated a better deal than that- even for a fully loaded one.

I'm buying an extended warranty on mine and was something I definitely would have advised you to purchase. They are absolutely worth the money and peace of mind. Mechanical failures are going to happen regardless of brand. Don't blame Chevy until you research how many of these vehicles have failures vs the competition.

·
Registered
977 Posts
Shouldn't happen at 45,000 miles. Sorry that happened to you. But I don't care what brand of vehicle you have. If the tranny goes out after the warrenty expires, I dought any car mfg/dealer will pay for it.

·
Registered
8,636 Posts
I don't own a Trailblazer but I know a friend that swears by them. The last 3 vehicles he owned were Trailblazers and he never had problem with them. In fact his current Trailblazer is a 2002 model year. His only issue with it was the On Star which had to be upgraded to Digital. You probably got a lemon but I would be just as upset as you are.

·
Registered
10,431 Posts