GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
So I'm a bit new to the SEMA show. I have a question about it. Is it normal for a car company to bring a bunch of concept art instead of actual vehicles to SEMA? I noticed that Chyrsler brought two challengers and then a bunch of concept art to the show, maybe it's because they're low on cash.?.?

·
Registered
9,089 Posts
So I'm a bit new to the SEMA show. I have a question about it. Is it normal for a car company to bring a bunch of concept art instead of actual vehicles to SEMA? I noticed that Chyrsler brought two challengers and then a bunch of concept art to the show, maybe it's because they're low on cash.?.?
SEMA is not really for the manufacuters it's for the aftermarket companies. These cars might have been supplied by Chrysler but they were not built or developed by Chrysler they were built by different aftermarket companies trying to establish a name for themselves while propping up Chrylser in the process.

·
Registered
4,930 Posts
I think it is fairly normal to do that. Remember though that Chrysler isn't paying for this, the aftermarket is.

EDIT: Beaten to it

·
Registered
23 Posts
I'll take the "SRT 10" engine in the Blacktop model....

·
Registered
257 Posts
SEMA is not really for the manufacuters it's for the aftermarket companies. These cars might have been supplied by Chrysler but they were not built or developed by Chrysler they were built by different aftermarket companies trying to establish a name for themselves while propping up Chrylser in the process.
The Manufacturers actually have been getting involved these days also along side the after market guys. The Challenger V10 (and the green hard top) is straight from Dodge and I think some of this years Camaro's are GM direct.