GM Inside News Forum banner

How Bad Is Road Construction In Your Area?

• Minor--Hardly Notice It At All

Votes: 15 41.7%
  • A Headache--Definitely Affects Driving Habits/Commute Times

Votes: 9 25.0%
  • Intolerable--There's always some *&^%[email protected] stretch tore up

Votes: 7 19.4%
  • Everything's Just Peachy ;P

Votes: 5 13.9%
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
5,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a commuter student, I've slowly become familiar with the stretch of interstate (I-80) that I drive between home & school twice a week (for a grand total of 200mi/wk). Any driver would tell you that with the construction we have, it's not exactly a smooth drive, with lane restrictions, speed changes and other assorted headaches a plenty......(from what I can tell, they're working on widening it to 3 lanes both east/westbound between Omaha & Lincoln)

Even around town I've changed the route I take to get to work @ night just to avoid the traffic headaches & extra lights due to construction.....the stuff we got going on is definitely not 'Big Dig' scale....but still a PITA.

So I thought I'd throw up a poll and invite anyone to share their experiences w/construction where they live.

·
Registered
6,105 Posts
now that i work for the DOT, i have a different perspective on it. huge steps are made to have the least amount of affect on traffic as possible- but sometimes theres just nothing that can be done. and most people dont seem to understand that, all they say is screw the DOT and construction- and thats really annoying.

the number one thing people say is to have them work at night, and that boggles my mind as well.

·
Banned
11,892 Posts
It makes driving more interesting. I'll get bored driving the same stretch every day, I'd like some road construction every now and then, adds randomness to my daily commute.

·
Super Moderator
20,962 Posts