GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, Newbie here, I have a '06 G6 GT with chrome wheels. Beautiful car, runs great, bad front brakes, and peeling chrome off the wheels. My complaint is that the dealership isn't going to replace the wheels. He is supposed to contact me with an appointment to see the GM rep.. His reason for not wanting to replace the wheels is that someone MAY have used acid on the wheels. I have owned the car since it had 11K on it, and no acid has been used on them since then (32K) now. The research I have done says that chrome should not peel even if it is chipped, the chrome bonds to the metal and unless it was a poor chrome job it shouldn't peel. The wheels are peeling from the back edge of the wheel outward, and there are a couple chips in the chrome due to scuffs that are also peeling. My question is am I the only person having this prob and how can he deny my claim on his speculation?

·
Premium Member
15,292 Posts
When I met with a Chrysler rep over a sort of similar problem on my 300C, they agreed to four new wheels. But, yeah, they gave me the "acid" excuse at first. The real culprit was the "chrome cladding" was just plastic bonded to an aluminum wheel, and the plastic cap was rubbing off the coating on the aluminum rim, causing corrosion. They should change them for you.

·
Registered
11,898 Posts
Sorry to hear. I would continue to politely but firmly keep the pressure on your dealer/GM rep to replace them

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hey guys,