GM Inside News Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
CNN has a story of the passing of Pat Tillman. A member of the US Army, Pat joined the military after the 9/11 tragedy even though he was a member of the Cardinals professional football team.
Instead of making millions playing for the Cardinals, he opted to serve his country.

As a vet, I salute this young man.
As a senior citizen, one can have heroes younger than you.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I read Pat's story on FoxNews.com; this is a true American hero. The article even mentioned how he turned down a more lucrative contract with another team while he was playing for the Cardinals because he wanted to stay with the NFL team who signed him. I just hope the press doesn't turn it into a over-hyped sad story about how the war is costing too much. Wars cost lives, but those who serve do so knowingly, and they deserve great honor indeed. Tillman's is a story that demonstrates the best and highest values of America, and his choices give me great pride in this country and its people.

·
Premium Member
2,003 Posts
This man is an inspiration, and a reminder that there is something each of us can do for our fighting men and women.

While few of us have both the opportunity and moral strength to make the kind of sacrifice this man has made for the rest of us, we can all do something, even if it amounts to what seems to be only a minor contribution.

If anyone here is looking for some way to answer a call to duty, I would encourage you to get in touch with organizations like this one who provide badly needed support for the families of service men and women fighting overseas.

Also, don't forget to stop and thank service men, women, and vets whenever you get a chance.

BTW 69nova, thank you for your service to our country. B)

·
Registered
3,758 Posts