GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have an 2018 Chevy 2500HD with a Duramax L5P engine introduced in 2017. I've owned it for 19 days and it has been back to the dealer in and around their shop for 12 days. It is showing codes for malfunctioning emission system. The dealer thinks it is a faulty Diesel Particulant Filter and/or can not figure why it is plugging. These issues are not new with the L5P engine and have been around since mandated in 2011 with the then new LML engine. My question is just how wide spread are these issues. And my problem down the road is, if I trade the truck back should I get another and risk the same problems or just try to get my money back and wait for GM to get their act together.

·
Registered
9,535 Posts
I am a heavy truck mechanic and aftertreatment is ALMOST the ONLY thing we work on when it comes to engines
a lot of school boards and ambulance services are buying petrol/gas power to get away from DPF/SCR systems

·
Registered
2,744 Posts
I have an 2018 Chevy 2500HD with a Duramax L5P engine introduced in 2017. I've owned it for 19 days and it has been back to the dealer in and around their shop for 12 days. It is showing codes for malfunctioning emission system. The dealer thinks it is a faulty Diesel Particulant Filter and/or can not figure why it is plugging. These issues are not new with the L5P engine and have been around since mandated in 2011 with the then new LML engine. My question is just how wide spread are these issues. And my problem down the road is, if I trade the truck back should I get another and risk the same problems or just try to get my money back and wait for GM to get their act together.