GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I know this isn't exactly a tech question but it didn't really have a forum of which it fit under. (That I saw, sorry if I missed it.)

I have a 1987 Buick Riviera T-Type and I'm trying to clean it up a bit. The vehicle was originally my grandfathers which was given to my father. My father never drove it and gave it to my sister when she was old enough to drive, however, she has spilled make-up and many other things in the car before crashing it into a construction dumpster. I replaced the front bumper and have been driving it since then and decided to fix it up since it's a very nice vehicle and the touch screen computer system still works perfectly!

Before you start using technical jargon, please keep in mind that I've never worked on a vehicle before and could not replace the battery without a few hours to understand how it's being held in place. - Basically, I know how to operate it, check the fluid levels, and wash it off with a hose and microfiber cloth. I've never even changed the oil, I've taken it to be done.

Anyway, here are some photos...
You can click the thumbnails for a larger image.
I've also numbered each area so you can easily help me with a specific one. :)

As you can see, my back seats look great as they were never used much...

1) In this next picture, you can see that the ash tray still needs cleaned out from where my sister had make-up that spilled in it. Also, as you can tell she did not smoke as there are pennies in the tray. However, my grandfather did smoke so there is a bit of an oder but it's faded out for the most part. Aside from that, you can see some rust and paint chippings. What would be the best way to fix this?

2) This next shot is behind the drivers seat on the floor. My sister said there was a bag with oil and anti-freeze in it. When she lifted the bag, the stains were there...