GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, im new on here and was wondering if pontiac and malibu are built on the same platform frame wise? i have a 1997 malibu and was wondering if i could switch some 2005 pontiac grand prix axles onto my malibu without too much mods? if you could let me know that would be great. Thanks beforehand to anyone who replies.

·
Registered
836 Posts
Doubt it, the 97 Malibu was on the N body platform, and the 05 Grand Prix was on the W body platform. And with that much of a time difference there would probably be different fittings and such, but I would wait to see other answers too, I'm no mechanic

·
Registered
11,071 Posts
GM cars on the same platform often don't have interchangeable parts.

But you've got the best chance of getting parts off another N-body car like a Grand Am, Achieva, Alero, or Skylark.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
if i really wanted to could i put the suspension/axles on the malibu from the pontiac tho with some modifications? or would it be too much work? i think it could be done but i would like other ppls opinions first......

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
ok but could i swap a GTP motor into the malibu? what modifications should i do to the malibu suspension/axles? i am wondering if i should just start with a GTP lol but i want to use the malibu if i can and i don't care so much for the grand prix looks........also what if i were to refabricate the frame so i could use the GTP suspension/axles? is it possible or am i just dreaming lol?

·
Premium Member
4,637 Posts