GM Inside News Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking into buying a Pontiac Vibe. I absolutly love the looks and I believe that it would also be a very practical car for me, as I am a college student and tend to drive quite a lot to and from home (600mi round trip). So the gas mileage, room and, I hate to admit it, but quality of a Toyota, would be a great benifit. But, the major set back is that everyone that I seem to ask about the Vibe, hate it. They think it looks too much like a station wagon and is ugly. Of course, living in Texas where the trucks are supreem, people tend to not like the Vibe as much. What do you guys think? Should I go with my instincts and get one?

·
Premium Member
14,692 Posts
I say get what you like, you'll be much happier with it in the long run and less likely to want to trade it in 2 years later. For me the 'Toyota quality' thing isn't such a big draw, but I love the functionality of it, the high revving engine mated to a 6-speed manual (on the GT), and the fold flat seats including the front passenger seat with plastic on the backs of the seats making one very large functional load floor for a hatchback.

The Vibe is a great selling vehicle - one of Pontiac's best.

Check out the fanatic owners at: GenVibe

As far as "ugly" goes, I think the unpainted lower body cladding trim level is tacky. The monochrome painted cladding Vibes look good to me. And Texas, yeah, everyone is supposed to drive a pickup or an F-body to be cool, but at least you'll have an Arrowhead on the back of your car, and not a "Toy-yoda" or "Hahn-duh" emblem for them Texans to hate. ;)

I also like the looks of the upcoming 2005 Vibe, with the smoothed out grille:

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·