GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
903 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I got a question. My Malibu has these springs that are visible that wedged between these arms (control arms) on the rear, yet on my old Taurus, I never saw anything like these. I just kind of assumed the spring went around the struts on the Taurus. My question is, what makes these visible springs different than other cars where you don't see them positioned there? And also, where are the struts on the rear? I took a quick look around but I couldn't see them. I admit I am a novice about all things suspension so forgive me if this is a dumb question.

·
Banned
8,969 Posts
You have a 4 link independent rear suspension- no struts. The Ford has a independent quadralink rear suspension w/struts. The springs on the 'Bu replace the struts.

·
Super Moderator
18,180 Posts
Simple coil rear suspension is the cheaper way out. That isn't to say it is bad, depending on application, but the benefit of having struts as well as springs is better damping. That is, coil springs supress the impact of an object that strikes the wheel, from the body of the vehicle (the strength of this supression is called "bound"). The only problem is they also bounce back at a similar rate (rebound). The downside of springs is...well, they are springy and tend to bounce more than once. Increasing the spring (or bound) rate, improves body roll in corners but comes at a cost of more bouncing. Add a strut and because of they are pushing a piston against fluid, the mass of the fluid slows the response of the spring. This ensures that when a wheel hits an object, it doesn't bounce as fast, therefore returning to the road earlier and staying there, aiding grip.

You will find that if you hit a bump mid corner under brakes (with your coil independent rear) you may lose some rear end grip (the tail may slide slightly).