GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Popular Hot Rodding recently did an interview with GM Engineering on the upcoming displacement on demand (DoD), next generation smallblock V8.

They also offered some interesting details on the upcoming 3.9 V6, including power ratings ("Rated at 240hp at 5900 rpm and 245 lb.-ft. of torque at 2800 rpm, the 9.8:1 compression LZ8 will make 90 percent of its peak torque between 1800 and 5800 rpm.") and the fact that the engine will be engineered for both FWD and RWD applications.

See - http://www.popularhotrodding.com/features/.../0405phr_gmdod/

·
Registered
8,863 Posts
Much appreciated post; I hope more like this follow. I'm not an engineer, though I do have a yearning to understand these types of things better. Articles like these help me to move toward a better conception of engine technology, albeit at a glacier's pace.

·
Registered
524 Posts
I've been waiting for more details on this engine.

Here are my thoughts and observations:
They talked only about the aluminum LH6 for the LWB TB & Envoy, but it also says "Both iron and aluminum versions of the engine block have redesigned oil galleries to support DOD oiling requirements." We can asume from this that the larger trucks are staying cast iron, and also getting DOD.

Their resoning for not offering the DOD on the Corvette and Rainer was that the muffler system used on the TB and Envoy would not package well. This is a poor excuse for the Rainer, perhaps the exact muffler used will not fit, but there should be plenty of room for another muffler to be designed. This may be something they are working on and will debute sooner or later. As for the corvette, It's a sure thing that Vette buyers are concerned about exhaust note, and packaging is tight on the sports car. But would the buyers care about a change in note when cruising in 4 cyliner mode? Perhaps a quieter note would be welcome on long trips?