GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2003 Silverado with rust bubbles under the paint around the cab's rear brake light. I took my truck in today to the dealer where I purchased the truck and was told this would normally be covered (my corrosion warranty expires June 2009), but because I am a coastal resident, the warranty would not be honored. I have had neighbors who have had rust repairs in the same location from the same dealer. Does the Service Manager have enough power to pick and choose who is covered and who is not ? I called GM Customer Service and said they could only go by what the local manager recommends. Also, when I purchased the truck, I was told the corrosion warranty would be honored no matter where I lived. Any suggestions on what to do next ?

·
Registered
6,363 Posts
Read your owners manual. The corrosion warranty doesn't cover rust.

It covers "rust through" the affected panel. As in holes. Not bubbling paint.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Mr. Critical.....I just went outside and pushed on one of the paint bubbles with a screw driver and it went through the metal...does that qualify ??

·
Registered
6,363 Posts
As long as it is a rust through hole and not a hole you pushed through with a screwdriver, you should be in the clear.

I'll admit I've never heard of rust around the third brake light though.

Two questions-Are you the original owner of the truck? That doesn't matter except that you would know the history of the truck.

Second, any water leaks in that area that you know of? Headliner ever wet?

As long as it didn't come from Hurricane Katrina, you should be fine.

·
Registered
11,898 Posts
The warranty seems a little blurry...IMHO it should be covered because you could poke through it with a screwdriver. Then again, if you poked through it but used a 3 lb hammer with that screwdriver, then to me that shouldn't be covered

·
Premium Member
4,637 Posts