It was more like the 22 Hours of Daytona this year, as a morning storm cut the historic endurance race short. But as the red flag fell for the last time, the number 10 Cadillac DPi-V.R, as piloted by Fernando Alonso, was in the lead.

Alonso was joined in the winners' circle by Jordan Taylor, Kamui Kobayashi, and Renger van Der Zande all of whom helped get the Number 10 Caddy from sixth on the grid up to first.

While their performances were all worthy of victory, they were helped along by the mechanical retirement of both Mazdas-one of which had earned pole position.

When the race was finally called, the result looked anything but certain, though. While Alonso was ahead, the Number 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi and the Number 7 Team Penske Acura DPi were both on the lead lap and finished the race just 13 seconds behind the leader.

Chevy, meanwhile, had a much less successful campaign in the GTLM class. The Corvettes struggled in the rain and could do no better than 6th and 9th in their class.