GM Inside News Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6,105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, first, i wanna say whats up. i havent been around much as of late, things have been crazy since i graduated in may- i just got a new job in june, started earlier this month, and i just finished moving- all in the last month and a half or so. things are going real good as of late, until now....

to the problem at hand. i was driving today, and my brake system warning light came on, and the DIC said "service brake system". so what does this mean? is it really serious? all the manual says is to pull over and see if the light goes off, if it doesnt, have it towed to the dealer. it doesnt say what the potential problems were. the light did go away while i was driving, but it came back when i turned the truck on, and then went off again while driving. when the light came, the brake pedal did become firmer like the manual said it might, but it still stopped fine. anyone know? i hope its just that i need some fluid or something, i just had the brakes done at 50k miles (im now at 66k)- brand new fronts, didnt touch the rear though (which are drums). any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
6,105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
noone knows anything about this? really?

at least it hasnt come back since yesterday, but it would nice to know what happened, or could be happening.

·
Banned
8,969 Posts
IDK, but that really surprises me that you already have to get brake work done on a Silverado with that few miles. Something doesn't sound right. I would at least have GMGoodwrech take a look at them.

Techs seem to be in very short supply as of late- sorry you're not getting much assistance.

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
well, the red brake light only comes on in a few situations,
1. low brake fluid switch detects low brake fluid or is shorted.