GM Inside News Forum banner

1989 Chevy caprice

8K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  ponchoman49 
#1 ·
Hi i am looking at this 1989 chevy caprice with 140,000 miles on it. its been maintained fairly well and has no rust. I was wondering if these cars make good daily driver since i am hoping to use it to commute back and forth from school.
http://images.craigslist.org/5N85G75Jc3Ge3L53Mdc5c36035879ff9313e6.jpg

theres a photo. i would appreciate some feed back. Yes im a noob please hold the jokes i am serious. :D

#3 ·
I'm pretty sure they're good reliable cars. If you know a thing or two about cars, you can fix most problems yourself. If you don't, I'd suggest learning. But the thing is going to be a gas guzzler.

#4 ·
Mechanically they're reliable and definitely comfortable cars. I would worry about fuel economy though along with traction in snow if you live in such a region.

#5 ·
That vehicle is either a former police model (9C1) or a former taxi (9C6). It will have either a fuel injected 305 (L03) or a fuel injected 350 (L05) with either a 200R4 or 700R4 transmission. Rear axle will be a 3.08 (GU4). Fuel economy will be 19 or 17 mpg depending on engine. They are basically indestructable cars and are easy to repair. It is common for them to break front springs at that age. The break typically occurs at the first twist of the lower coils. If you're only commuting a few miles a day you'll enjoy it. Any more and you'll find that it is too expensive to fill the 25 gallon tank.

#8 ·
:spit:

Ya, I'd say. It's hard to tell from the one pic, but I'd guess maybe $1,500 at the most. And that's safetied and e-tested, or whatever is required in your state. THe best way to see what it's worth is Kelly Blue Book and do a search for similar models for sale. That might be hard in this case.

#9 · (Edited)