GMI Browser issues

  1. Welcome to GM Inside News Forum – General discussion forum for GM

    Welcome to GM Inside News Forum - a website dedicated to all things GM.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join GM Inside News Forum today!
     
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: GMI Browser issues

  1. #1
    2.8 Liter Turbocharged V6 TimR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    GMI Browser issues

    Gentlemen, I was just wondering if something has changed on GMI?? Last week the site started freezing my browers up when I try to read a thread. Will load a bit, then the browser/scrolling stops responding. I have this issue with all the computers I have access to (pc and mac, 3 different machines at home) and all browsers EXCEPT IE on my wifes Dell laptop lock up or slow down severely.

    I have tried Firefox (pc and mac), Safari (mac), IE (windows) and Opera (windows). Not sure whats up here, and the real issue is IE is installed on my wifes computer, not mine, and I personally would prefer not to use IE on my machine. No issues with any other sites at all using any combination of computer/browser.

    Anybody else having issues?

    Thanks
    Last edited by TimR; 06-09-2009 at 07:32 PM. Reason: typos

  2. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Banned Butz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Celestial North Korea
    Posts
    11,892
    Thanks
    2,802
    Thanked 1,596 Times in 965 Posts
    My Ride
    です

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Works fine.

    Chromium 3.0.185.0 (17929)

  4. #3
    R2-D2 Astromech Droid mgescuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    43,501
    Thanks
    3,930
    Thanked 2,053 Times in 2,108 Posts
    My Ride
    E350, 9-5 Aero

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    I have had issues with all my computers and all browsers.
    The browser stalls and hangs while trying to load. It is simply rectified by reloading the page... and sometimes re-re-loading the page.

    It's annoying. But it's kinda been like that for many months on and off...

  5. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Banned Butz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Celestial North Korea
    Posts
    11,892
    Thanks
    2,802
    Thanked 1,596 Times in 965 Posts
    My Ride
    です

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Not a single issue with GMI, not now and not in the past months.

    It helps when using something like Chromium.

  7. #5
    R2-D2 Astromech Droid mgescuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    43,501
    Thanks
    3,930
    Thanked 2,053 Times in 2,108 Posts
    My Ride
    E350, 9-5 Aero

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Butz View Post
    Not a single issue with GMI, not now and not in the past months.

    It helps when using something like Chromium.
    Safari 4 is faster. :

  8. #6
    4.6 Liter Northstar V8 oklapike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,996
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 44 Times in 31 Posts
    My Ride
    Camaro SS 45th AE

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    I have occasional issues using IE (no choice at work, unfortunately), but I've never had a problem at home using Firefox.

  9. #7
    GMI Contributor Premium Member Ming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    An Alternate Timeline
    Posts
    14,692
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    The only thing that messes up my browsers recently is facebook.

    No issues with GMI, other than a strange blank space on the main page due to banners with some browsers I use.

  10. #8
    6.2 Liter LS3 V8 Premium Member Toto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Dortmund
    Posts
    3,750
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 885 Times in 481 Posts
    My Ride
    Opel Corsa GSI

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Same problem here except the freezing. Sometimes it takes several minutes before the site finished (Firefox 3.0.10 on Linux).


  11. #9
    3.0 Liter SIDI V6 WannabeRich's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Yes, having freezing problems with IE 8.0.

  12. #10
    6.2 Liter LS9 Supercharged V8 Premium Member ChevyRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,940
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 274 Times in 115 Posts
    My Ride
    2007 Saturn Aura XR

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    No problems here on Safari 4.

  13. #11
    2.8 Liter Turbocharged V6 TimR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Thanks for the replies. Today I took my wifes laptop out for a drive, found a couple unsecured wireless networks and tried again. IE still works, firefox slows right down and eventually will lock up completely. So its not our home network. Hitting reload button does nothing.

    The stupid part is up to last week or so, I NEVER had an issue at all with GMI, and I have been here for years.This is very frustrating, as it is one of my "every day" websites. It has to be the website, as no issues anywhere else at all. Bummer
    Last edited by TimR; 06-09-2009 at 07:33 PM. Reason: more typos :)

  14. #12
    6.2 Liter LS3 V8 drew630's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pulaski TN
    Posts
    3,635
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Quote Originally Posted by TimR View Post
    Thanks for the replies. Today I took my wifes laptop out for a drive, found a couple unsecured wireless networks and tried again. IE still works, firefox slows right down and eventually will lock up completely. So its not our home network. Hitting reload button does nothing.

    The stupid part is up to last week or so, I NEVER had an issue at all with GMI, and I have been here for years.This is very frustrating, as it is one of my "every day" websites. It has to be the website, as no issues anywhere else at all. Bummer
    What happens when you go through a proxy?
    2016 Silverado 2500HD High Country

  15. #13
    2.8 Liter Turbocharged V6 TimR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Quote Originally Posted by drew630 View Post
    What happens when you go through a proxy?
    Good call....it works just fine. WTF?? Is it our ISP maybe (using unknown wireless networks no idea who their provider is and only two majors in this area)?? And why only this site?

  16. #14
    6.2 Liter LS9 Supercharged V8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,316
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 33 Times in 20 Posts

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Quote Originally Posted by WannabeRich View Post
    Yes, having freezing problems with IE 8.0.
    IE 8.0 is a wreck. I upgraded thinking it would be faster, but it's slower yet. Opera's the best my not so tech-savvy ass has come across.

  17. #15
    6.2 Liter LS3 V8 drew630's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pulaski TN
    Posts
    3,635
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: GMI Browser issues

    Quote Originally Posted by TimR View Post
    Good call....it works just fine. WTF?? Is it our ISP maybe (using unknown wireless networks no idea who their provider is and only two majors in this area)?? And why only this site?
    It's your ISP conflicting with GMI forum software I think (started after last forum software upgrade/update if I remember right). What causes it exactly I don't know but GMI has been having this problem for almost a year with certain ISP's.
    2016 Silverado 2500HD High Country

  18. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News
    Advertisements
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2