GM Inside News Forum banner

Cadillac’s Giant 4-Cylinder Engine Has A New Dual Volute Turbo

9K views 51 replies 30 participants last post by  unkillsam 
#1 ·
From

Engineering Explained
27 May 2020

#2 ·
Video should say GM truck engine that's tuned to run on premium gas (and is good enough to be better then the actual Caddy 4 engine).

#3 ·
That's pretty cool, I love videos like this that can explain the working in laymen's terms. I'm a layman and I like the terms! Very nice engine in the CT4, I drove it in the premium luxury and walked away impressed!

Has anyone seen any real world Silverado mpg's V8 vs. this 2.7T? Curious if reality gives the turbo better mpg's.

#4 ·
Has anyone seen any real world Silverado mpg's V8 vs. this 2.7T? Curious if reality gives the turbo better mpg's.
Car and Driver did a real world fuel economy test for 2019 Silverado 1500 RST 2.7T 4WD Double Cab. Here's what they found:

"The undersquare engine, as you’d expect, is a grunter. Its 348 pound-feet of torque persists between 1500 and 4000 rpm, enough latitude to accommodate all normal driving. The 310-hp peak comes at 5600 rpm, only 100 rpm before redline, but you’ll never need it. Chevy pairs the mill exclusively with its eight-speed auto, and it’s a predictive ’box, giving you immediate torque on demand. The EPA rates this version of the Silverado at 20 mpg combined, but we achieved only 16 in daily use, the same fuel economy we measured from an all-wheel-drive 5.3-liter V-8-powered Silverado crew cab. On our 200-mile highway loop, the four-cylinder made liberal use of its turbocharger and yielded 18 mpg, 3 mpg less than that same Silverado [V8].

#34 ·
I remember long ago CD or MT or someone did a comparo of an Olds something, maybe F-85, Big Mill Loafing vs. Small Mill Grunting. I forget how it turned out, but I believe they preferred the V8.

#9 ·
Ford sells a V8 F-150 so how does that make any sense? Very confused why you brought up Ford here.