Throwback Thursday: Winning at Sebring in an Oldsmobile

It was 1996 when Jim Pace and Wayne Taylor did the remarkable.

They won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and then followed it up with victory at the Twelve Hours of Sebring, in an American car no less.

“It was the first time for an American-built chassis to win at Sebring during the IMSA era,” Pace said.

“The guys on the team still talk about it. What was most memorable was the team chemistry. It was a new team, a relatively new car with the Riley and Scott MK III in its second year, and the first time to have the Oldsmobile Aurora engine in it. It was very unproven and untried. Back in those days, we didn’t have the pre-event testing we have now. It was Bob Riley’s brilliance and Mark Scott’s tenacity, along with the team they put together headed up by Wayne Taylor.”

They became the third team to win overall at both Daytona and Sebring in the same car. They joined John Paul Jr. and Sr. in a Rolf Stommelen Porsche 935; and A.J. Foyt and Bob Wollek in another Porsche 935 in 1985.

The feat has only been repeated once since, when Gianpiero Moretti, Didier Theys and Mauro Baldi did it in 1998 driving the Momo Ferrari 333SP.

Head on over to for the full scoop from Jim Pace.