Transmission question when Towing a Malibu 4 down

1. Welcome to GM Inside News Forum – General discussion forum for GM

Welcome to GM Inside News Forum - a website dedicated to all things GM.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join GM Inside News Forum today!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Transmission question when Towing a Malibu 4 down

Walking
    Thanks

Transmission question when Towing a Malibu 4 down

Hi, newbie here. According to Motorhome magazine any Malibu from 1997 forward can be towed four wheels down. These cars have the 4T40E auto tranny. Can anyone provide insight on why the Impala cannot from similar years and what tranny they come with?

Same idea on the Pontiacs, the Grand AM can be towed four down but the Gran Prix and Bonneville cannot.

The magazine says these are the only ones the manufacturer is willing to state in writing they can be towed four down.

I need a older 1997 - 2001, car that can comfortably fit three people in the back seat. The Malibu and the Grand Am are a little tight.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News
    Advertisements

7.0 Liter LS7 V8 Premium Member
    Thanks

Re: Transmission question when Towing a Malibu 4 down

THe bigger units have a 4T60e, and in neutral, they still have some viscous activity, whereas the 4T40e does not... This is what I've been told! Anything with the 4T40e should do...

MN4 is the option code...

Some Saturns could also be towed...however I don't know if the 4 cyl L series used a 4T40e or not...

You could get a bigger car, but then you'd need to wheel dolly the front...which I realize that you don't want to do...