Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

  1. Welcome to GM Inside News Forum – General discussion forum for GM

    Welcome to GM Inside News Forum - a website dedicated to all things GM.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join GM Inside News Forum today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

  1. #1
    1.8 Liter ECOTEC
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Grapevine TX
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

    Is it possible to add remote start to a Saturn Vue XR if it did not come w/ it from the factory?
    Relax... and enjoy the difference!
    Eric Hall aka SS-Eric
    ehall@classicchevytexas.com
    817-421-7266

  2. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    7.0 Liter LS7 V8 coaster.n3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    5,059 Miles SE of Dutch Harbor
    Posts
    4,823
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

    Check with a local dealer to see what they have to offer. It is possible. While I have never done a factory remote start after the sale, I have had customers install aftermarket remote starts and have no problems.
    Mercedes: Irrellevant in todays market.


    "I would never consider owning a Buick because of the sheer stigma of owning a Buick, no matter how good they got;"
    -Mgescuro the follower.

  4. #3
    1.8 Liter ECOTEC
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Grapevine TX
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

    Thanks! I havent had much luck w/ aftermarket in the past, so was wanting factory, that way it will work w/ the heated seats and climate control. Maybe I'll just have my parts dept order the parts and see if they'll work.
    Relax... and enjoy the difference!
    Eric Hall aka SS-Eric
    ehall@classicchevytexas.com
    817-421-7266

  5. #4
    2.8 Liter Turbocharged V6 dr.gizmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    770
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

    Your dealer should be able to check if a factory kit is available, they mostly consist of new remotes and a re-flash of several modules, that is the real cost, upgrading the vehicles software.
    30 Year Gm Dealer Tech.
    GM World Class Tech with 9 certs.
    ASE Master with L1; 12 certs. total

  6. #5
    4.4 Liter Supercharged Northstar sonjaab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Syracuse-Alexandria Bay NY-Daytona
    Posts
    2,837
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

    Check your RPO list to see if your car has the AP-8 code.

    That is the code for 07 and up GM trucks, Malibu and possibly
    yours that will accept the GM remote start kit and reprogram.

  7. #6
    6.2 Liter LS9 Supercharged V8 goblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    7,144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Adding factory remote start to a Saturn Vue XR

    Quote Originally Posted by coaster.n3rd View Post
    Check with a local dealer to see what they have to offer. It is possible. While I have never done a factory remote start after the sale, I have had customers install aftermarket remote starts and have no problems.
    Coaster, if you ever want a really good hassle, don't discourage aftermarket remote start. I've had now 3 for 3 friends do it to a recent GM. 3 for 3 against my advice and all had a visit from a tow truck. PassKey doesn't play nice with anything. I had it done a while ago - when they did it a wire wasn't routed in a protected fashion and it got worn, paralyzed the car. Took over a year to become an issue, and even longer to eliminate.

    It can be done safely, but it has to be an excellent shop. I thought I went to one - had been in business for 5 years, great reviews etc. They were gone when I needed them and I ate the repair bill for their mistake. None of the wiring is meant to be messed with.

    You should get a kickback/spiff/six-pack for referrals to your service dept - and that's where it should be done, under Goodwrench warranty and support - not Best Buy with a bunch of punks tearing into the dash
    VOLTEC is the future of everything automotive.
    A plug in Prius is not the same as a VOLT.
    No longer do you have to buy the worst in class car for the best MPG.
    The Prius is now irrelevant.

    Quote Originally Posted by John1701a View Post
    VOLT USES LESS GAS

  8. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News
    Advertisements
     

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2