GM 3800 Reliability

1. Welcome to GM Inside News Forum – General discussion forum for GM

Welcome to GM Inside News Forum - a website dedicated to all things GM.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join GM Inside News Forum today!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GM 3800 Reliability

Walking
    Thanks

GM 3800 Reliability

First off, I would like to say I'm new to gminsidenews and I would like to say hello to everyone here.

I'm in college and I love working on GM Cars, thats why im here.

I used to be an import (Toyota or Honda) lover until I got behind the wheel in a few of the GM cars. The Pontiacs mostly, as well as my friends Eldorado, etc. It switched me over.

I'm driving a 2001 Saturn SL1 (Yes the SOHC) with 116,000 miles currently and an Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais Base model from 91 with only 70K. (yes they still have those around every now and then) It's a nice car but I'm looking for something reliable and much nicer. Although my parents would prefer me to get a honda or toyota me and my best friend are into cars and I hear a lot of good talk about this 3800 Motor I hear its good and I would like to buy a car which will last forever. I see a lot on craigslist for around 4500 in my area the (GT version) under 80K miles.

I have a few questoins

1.- How good is the 3.8 on the 2000-2002 Grand Prix

2.- HOw many miles can I typically get out of one.

3.- Is around $4500 a decent price

4.- if i get one with close to 100,000 miles how do i know if its a safe buy

Thanks everyone, I hope to hear from you all soon!

I would like to get rid of the saturn

2. Remove Advertisements
    GM Inside News